Stop Romanticizing About The Good Old Film Days – They Weren’t That Good

baileycooperuk:

So true… It’s the image that matters, not how you get it. I’ve shot thousands of rolls of film, and sometimes I think I miss the ‘good old days’, then I slap myself in the face and tell myself not to be stupid! We’ve never had it so good!

Originally posted on Photofocus:

Photo by Scott Bourne – Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs Creative Commons

Photo by Scott Bourne – Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs Creative Commons

The other day we posted about a nifty plug-in from Digital Film Tools that emulates film. The reaction was amusing. All 12 of the remaining film shooters in our audience felt the need to subject me to the appropriate amount of faux outrage. Their responses were predictable and I think come from the same general set of misconceptions.

If you’re young, and were born into the age of computers, you may tend to romanticize about the good old days you never experienced. I’ve shot more film than most of you. Digital only became available in the last half of my career and I spent more time shooting film than I have yet shooting digital. I was there. I did it every day. I lived it. It wasn’t that great.

Those of you who are of the religion of low – light would…

View original 464 more words

